BOOM! Goes the dynamite.

It’s that time of year again, when warm weather is just around the corner. Everyone I know is putting a little extra effort into their workout routine to get ready for their sundresses and swimsuits, so I thought this was a great time to try out a few new fitness apps. This first of three fitness apps that I am going to review is Nike’s BOOM app, free to download on iOs.

The Boom app rates #27 in Apple’s free Health & Fitness apps. In that broad category, it is the 8th most popular app for working out (versus diet and nutrition), three of which are Nike apps. It is described as a motivational app that “syncs your music with your dynamic training workouts, with your sport’s most elite athletes and coaches motivating you along the way”. Upon downloading the app, there is no forced registration or Facebook connect. The first screen has a floating layer that prompts a download of motivational pep-talks from athletes and coaches. I think they could have skipped this part and automatically included the motivations, which is the primary reason behind downloading the app. Next, I was prompted to choose a sport: The options include football, basketball, hockey, rugby, soccer, baseball and cross training. This app is obviously geared to men because every visual is of a male athlete. I don’t think they should alienate women from the app, so I would suggest including a more gender neutral approach.  

Upon selecting cross training, I was given the option to watch a demo or go straight into my workout. The demo is really well done, explaining how to get the most out of the app and tailored to my sport selection. After that I was served with a footer navigation panel to scroll through, which included  working out, intervals, gameday, review my workout history, and setting. I moved forward by going into workout and chose a 45 minute cardio session. They floated another screen that suggested connecting to Facebook so that I could receive virtual cheers from my network. After selecting this option, it served an auto filled message to post to my wall, though I tailored with ease. Next, it integrated with my playlists and I was able to choose my “May Gym” playlist. While this seems like a lot of steps, it only took about two minutes.

I really enjoyed the user experience during my workout. It kept track of warm-up and cool down time and interjected motivational pep-talks from athletes about every five minutes. The part that really made me smile was every time one of my Facebook friends liked or commented on my wall I would hear a loud crowed cheer. It sounds cheesy, but it is actually really fun! After my workout, I could see the comments that my friends left in my workout history.

Overall, this was a really engaging app with an intuitive UX. I’m definitely looking forward to using it again. Great job, Nike!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

